Island Theatre Ten-Minute Play Festival

August 23 & 24: Island Theatre Ten-Minute Play Festival at BPA

Performances: Saturday @ 7:30 p.m. & Sunday @ 7:30 p.m.

Island Theatre dedicates this year’s festival to Bob McAllister!


Bob McAllister had an abiding love of theatre, and he had an unshakeable commitment to the community of artists he mentored, loved, and collaborated with at Island Theatre, Bainbridge Performing Arts and the Island’s entire community. His voice will live on in the community of directors, actors, poets, educators, students, staff, board, and audience members who witnessed his dynamism and the kindness he brought to each and every role, whether on or off stage. Photo courtesy of Stephen M. Stolee.

Island Theatre’s annual Ten-Minute Play Festival presents sixteen works by local playwrights over two evenings, August 23 and 24 at Bainbridge Performing Arts. Eight plays will be performed on Saturday evening, and the other eight will be performed on Sunday evening. Festival goers will be invited to vote for an audience choice award for each night. In addition, an overall festival favorite, determined by the judges, will be awarded a cash prize at the end of the festival on Sunday night.

READ the play summaries here.

VIEW the performance schedule here.

The plays were chosen from fifty-seven submissions from throughout Kitsap County and include "A Place That Looks Like Davenport" by Paul Lewis, "An Argument for Lovers" by Steven Lee Palay, "At The End of Her Rope" by Trish Bittman, "Bliss" by Miller Shor, "Embracing the 99%" by Charlie Hamilton, "I Know Just What You Mean" by Jeff Fraga, "It Is Always Three A.M." by Ulla Solberg, "It's Not Too Late" by Rob Dalton, "The Love Collar" by Wendy Wallace, "Red or Black?" by James E. Anderson, "Slam Dunk" by Ned Thorne, "Tech Support" by Diane Walker, "The Beach House" by John Ratterman, "The Interview" by Gwen K. Adams, "What Price an Orange?" by Connie Bennett, and "Without" by John Ellis.

The stagings feature Island Theatre directors and actors. The directors include Susan Anderson, Diane B. Bankart, Larry Blaine, Kate Carruthers, Rozzella Kolbegger, Fred Saas, Sara Scribner, and Steve Stolee. The plays will feature an ensemble cast of thirty-two Kitsap County actors: Jessica Aubin, Noah Barfield, Tia Bannister, Victoria Brown, Robert Craighead, Barbara Deering, Robin Denis, Tyler Detrick, Tracy Dickerson, Ted Dowling, John Ellis, Ken Enright, Todd Erler, Tony Gasbarri, Rilla Hughes, Ashley Hurd, Eva Jane, Cyndi King, Dylan Lehotsky, Sam McJunkin, Jennifer Pippen-Montez, Arthur Mortell, Marybeth Redmond, Patrick Ryan, George Shannon, Miller Shor, Sandi Spellman, Bronsyn Springer, Tim Tully, SueEllen VanDuyne, Ann Wilkinson, and Andrejs Zommers.

The festival is recommended for ages 13 and above as some plays include strong language and adult subject matter. Check the Island Theatre website,, for the final schedule.

Admission is FREE. (Donations are welcome.

Photo: This year’s Island Theatre Ten-Minute Play Festival playwrights. Credit: Steve Stolee
Left to right: Ulla Solberg, Rob Dalton, Gwen Adams, Miller Shor, Diane Walker, Steven Lee Palay, Trish Bittman, Jim Anderson, Wendy Wallace, John Ratterman, Jeff Fraga. Missing: Paul Lewis, John Ellis, Ned Thorne, Charlie Hamilton, Connie Bennett

Island Theatre Ten-Minute Play Festival

Ticket Information