8th Annual Island Theatre Ten-Minute Play Festival at BPA


In its eighth iteration, Island Theatre brings to the stage ten of the best short plays penned by Kitsap County playwrights for a three day festival of live performances at Bainbridge Performing Arts. The plays have been selected from over sixty submissions by a blind judging panel of theatre professionals. Plays will be helmed by ten local directors and cast with over two dozen local actors.

In works that range from serious drama to light-hearted comedy, these ten local playwrights offer us surprising reflections on modern life. From relationships to immigration, sexual identity to television culture, they capture the quirks and challenges of a world in transition.

The ten plays and playwrights are: “Alexa” by Jeff Fraga; “Best Defense” by Jennifer Pippin-Montanez; “Dancing with Orion” by Diane Walker; “Devolution” by Connie J. Bennett; “Hijab” by Catherine Rush; “The Lady from Out of the Past” by Maria Viera Beatty; “Let Me Finish (One Last Chance)” by Dan Rosenberg; “The Raven in the Woods” by Tamarah Rockwood; “The Rose Bowl” by Robert Craighead; and “Trans-Matters” by Eve Palay.

MEET THE PLAYWRIGHTS (pictured above) - A public panel discussion with the authors of the selected plays for the Island Theatre 2019 Ten-Minute Play Festival. The playwrights spoke about their plays, writing techniques and aspirations of their art on May 31 of this year. Left to right: Dan Rosenberg, Diane Walker, Maria Vierra Beatty, Tamara Rockwood, Eve Palay, Jeff Fraga, Jennifer Pippin-Montanez and Catherine Rush; not shown—Connie Bennett, Robert Craighead. Island Theatre photo by Steve Stolee.

Directors for the plays are Scott Breitbarth, Jeff Brown, Hanna Eady, Karen Hauser, Jennifer Hodges, D'Arcy Clements, Kristi Ann Jacobson, Ryan O’Donnell, Fred Saas, and Steve Stolee, who is also managing director of the festival.

Actors include Jim Alexander, Libby Clements, Samantha Byergo, Sam McJunkin, Tres Cozine, Evan Lenz, Terace Yeatts, Wayne Purves, Melissa Munden, Tammy Byergo, David Hager, Sandi Spellman, Jeff Brown, Tyler Weaver, Marybeth Redmond, Pete Simpson, Kristi Ann Jacobson, and Eve Palay.

TMPF2019 web preview 320x480.jpg


Adults - $20

Discounted - $15

Please join Island Theatre in the BPA lobby an hour before curtain for refreshments, with concession proceeds benefiting Bainbridge Performing Arts. The theater doors open 30 minutes before showtime.


August 15 - 17, 2019